FireFox


Clear Your History

  • Open the "History" menu from the top navigation
  • Select "Clear Recent History"
  • Ensure the following are selected: Browsing & Download History, Form & Search History, Cookies, Cache, Active Logins
  • Click "Clear Now"
Private Browsing
  • Open the "File" menu from the top navigation
  • Select "New Private Window"




Internet Explorer


Clear Your History

  • Open the "Tools" menu from the top navigation
  • Select "Internet Options"
  • Select "General"
  • In the section called "Temporary Internet Files" click on "Delete Files"
  • On the same screen, in the section called "History" click on "Clear History"
Private Browsing
  • Open the "Tools" menu item
  • Select "New Private Window"




Google Chrome


Clear Your History

  • Open the "Chrome" menu from the top navigation
  • Select "Clear Browsing Data"
  • Ensure the following are selected: Browsing History, Download History, Cookies, Cached
  • Click "Clear browsing data"
Private Browsing
  • Open the "File" menu from the top navigation
  • Select "New Incognito Window"




Safari


Clear Your History

  • Open the "History" menu from the top navigation
  • Select "Clear History and Website Data..."
  • Click "Clear History"




Private Browsing


  • Open the "File" menu from the top navigation
  • Select "New Private Window"





Hide My Tracks

Here are some ways to reduce the likelihood that someone could trace your online activities.

 

Internet browsers like Firefox and Microsoft Edge are designed to pick up information from the websites that you visit. While it’s hard to guarantee that your internet activity is untraced, there are some simple steps that you can take to hide your tracks.

 

If you know that you don’t want your history recorded in advance, you can activate your browser’s “Private” mode. Browsing in Private mode ensures that your browser doesn’t retain the information that it gathers from the websites that you visit. Closing your Private mode window returns the browser to its usual mode.

 

If you’d like to erase browsing data that’s already been collected, follow these steps.

If you suspect that someone is actively monitoring your internet history, a completely empty browsing history may seem suspicious. Consider doing additional unrelated browsing after clearing your browser history to cover for any information that may be missing.